15 July 2024

Africa Union to become permanent member of G-20

The African Union, AU, has become a permanent member of the G-20 also called Group of 20.

India’s prime minister, Narendra Modi made the announcement Saturday as he inaugurated a leaders’ summit in New Delhi, the capital city of India for the world’s wealthiest nations.

During his opening speech, India’s prime minister invited the chairman of the African Union, Azali Assoumani, to take his seat as a permanent member of the group.

In his opening remark, Modi said “today, as the president of G-20, India calls upon the world to come together to transform the global trust deficit into one of trust and reliance.

“This is the time for all of us to move together. Be it the divide between North and South, the distance between the East and West, management of food and fuel, terrorism, cyber security, health, energy or water security, we must find a solid solution to this for future generations.”

DAILY POST reports that prior to the summit, the G-20 was a forum comprising of 19 countries, including the European Union

The Group of 20 works to address major issues related to the global economy, such as international financial stability, climate change mitigation and sustainable development.

Nigerian President, Bola Tinubu departed the country for India on Tuesday ahead of the summit.



Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp

× WhatsApp Us