June 29, 2022

Flamingos to know India 2022 U-17 World Cup opponents today

Flamingos to know India 2022 U-17 World Cup opponents today

Nigeria’s opponents at this year’s FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup finals will emerge today during the draw ceremony scheduled for the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland.
The 16-nation championship will hold from October 11 to 30 in three Indian cities of Bhubaneswar, Goa and Navi Mumbai.
Nigeria, Morocco and Tanzania will fly Africa’s flag, to contend for the trophy against hosts India, China, Japan, New Zealand, U.S., Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Germany, Spain and France.
India hosted the FIFA U-17 World Cup for the boys in 2018 and were slated to host the girls’ event two years ago, but the COVID-19 pandemic aborted that, necessitating a postponement and scaling down of the original host cities to three.
Nigeria will be in Pot 3, alongside France, U.S and China (meaning they will not be in the same group with any of those three). Hosts India, occupies top spot in Pot 1 alongside Japan, Spain and Germany, with Mexico, Canada, Brazil and New Zealand in Pot 2.

Pot 4 comprises Tanzania (playing at their first World Cup), Chile, Colombia and Morocco.

See also  Junior Tennis League berths with 11 teams

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: