December 4, 2023

Blurry Hope As Southwest PDP Faction Rejects Former Gov. Oyinlola-Led Reconciliation Committee, Sets Up Parallel Members


The crisis rocking the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Southwest seems may not end anytime soon as another fraction of the Party rejected the Former Osun Governor, Olagunsoye Oyinlolaled led reconciliation committee that was set up on Wednesday.

The party now has two reconciliation panels that are not on the same. The faction, believed to be led by former Governor of Ekiti State, Ayodele Fayose, named its own reconciliation committee members in a communique issued at the end of a meeting in Lagos on Friday.

[embedded content]

The committee is to be headed by an APC chieftain in the zone, Femi Babalola.

Other members are Kolapo Ogunjobi, Ahmed Okandeji Mustapha, Idowu Odeyemi and Tunde Akindehin.

Another committee, was also set up to investigate what led to the defeat of the party at the October 10 governorship election in Ondo State. The Committee is to be led by Bola Olu-Ojo.

Recalls that South-West PDP leaders, led by Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, had appointed a five-man reconciliation committee, headed by Oyinlola, which was charged with the responsibility to unite all factions in the geo-political zone.

Other members of the Oyinlola-led committee, according to the statement, include Saka Balogun, Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele, Omolade Oluwateru and Olayinka Kukoyi.

The meeting, held in Ibadan, and presided over by Makinde, also resolved that zonal executive positions of the party should be zoned to all states of the South-West, adding that it had become imperative for the party to unite ahead of future elections across the zone.

However, the communique of the factional meeting held in Lagos, said, “We take due notice of the efforts of the National Working Committee geared towards sustaining our great Party and extending its frontiers across the nation and commend it for its dedication and commitment to the Party.

“We particularly congratulate them for the victory of the Party in the last gubernatorial election in Edo State. We also commend and congratulate Gov Nyesom Wike of Rivers State, who was the Chairman of Edo State Campaign Committee and his team for their competence, commitment, dexterity and successful management of the Edo State election.

“We also pointedly underscore the fact that the approach and attitude to the prosecution of their Assignments was the required catalyst for the Party’s success. We also congratulate the people of that State for voting the PDP.

“That we note very sadly the abysmally woeful performance of the Party in the last gubernatorial election in Ondo State. We declare that it is disappointing that we lost that election so colossally in a State where we won the presidential election, two Senators and three House of Representative seats in 2019.

“Therefore, it is resolved that a five-man panel is hereby set up to sturdy, assess and identify factors responsible for this unprecedented woeful performance in Ondo State and submit its report within a month.”

The PDP leaders added, “We also note that a group of people are beginning to introduce intra Party violence within the Zone. This ugly development which possess the capability to destroy amity, unity and comradeship within the Party must be checked at once.

“In view of this, the National Working Committee is hereby encouraged to take stringent actions against identified sponsors of such actions. Therefore the Panel report detailing all incidences of violence and their sponsors will be forwarded to the NWC for further action.

“We are aware of the fact that the Zonal Congress will hold in due course, thus the report of the Committee on Zoning of Executive positions was received and deliberated upon; therefore positions are zoned as follows; (a) Ondo– National Vice Chairman and Zonal Publicity Secretary;
(b) Osun – Zonal Secretary and Zonal Legal Adviser; (c) Ogun – Zonal Organising Secretary and Zonal Woman Leader; (d) Oyo – Zonal Auditor and Zonal Youth Leader; (e) Ekiti – Zonal Treasurer; (f) Lagos – Zonal Financial Secretary.
All the States will contribute additional Ex-Officio members to the Zonal Executive.

“We also wish to encourage the National Working Committee to be ready to discipline errant member(s) of the party that deliberately take any action that may compromise the peace and interest of the party in the South West; irrespective of position, status and privileges.
It is only when discipline is enforced that the party will continue to grow and attain success.

“As responsible Party Leaders, we recognise the fact that the National Working Committee remains the ultimate authority over the party and as such trust in its competence to address all issues and matters developing within the party, as such hold firmly and trust that it will not share its sacrosanct responsibilities with anybody or group.

“Therefore we shall seek audience with it in respect of developments within the party.”

Signatories to the communique are Bisi Kolawole (Chairman, Ekiti State), Sikirulai Ogundele (Chairman, Ogun State), Deji Doberty (Chairman, Lagos State) Sunday Akanfe (Deputy State Chairman, Osun State).

Others are Zonal caretaker committee members – Dayo Akintan, Mustapha Sikiru Banana, Martins Abiloye, Nekan Olagbegi, Funmi Ogun, Wahab Owokoniran, Fadeyi Ayo Awolowo.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: