15 July 2024

Ogun 20 local govts share N5.233bn for August

The 20 local government councils in Ogun State are said to have shared the sum of N5,233,379,834.30 in the month of August.

The Ogun State Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC) made this disbursement public at its August meeting, which was held in the Conference Hall of the Oba’s Complex in Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Dr Rotimiolu Akinlesi, in his welcome address at the meeting, called on the local government chairmen to carry out more developmental projects, commending them for the feats achieved in the last two years.

According to a statement shared by Emmanuel Ojo, an aide to Governor Dapo Abiodun, the Permanent Secretary and Accountant-General of the State Treasury, Babatunde Aregbesola, announced that: “N5,233,379,834.30 from Statutory Revenue, Value Added Tax (VAT), Exchange Difference, and Electronic Money Transfer Levy (EMTL) accrued to the 20 local government areas in the state for August 2023.

“N5,143,138,652.75 would be used to pay the first-line charges, which include primary school teachers’ salaries, local government staff salaries, and allowances of the traditional councils, as well as pensions, among others.”



Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp

× WhatsApp Us